My 3 words for 2011


The formidably impressive Chris Brogan published a blog post today entitled My 3 words for 2011. In the post, Chris outlines the three words that will be the guiding pillars for what he will focus on for the year ahead. As I mentioned in my post from yesterday, I don’t believe New Year resolutions are always the best idea and it seems Chris Brogan and I have something in common! The 3 words concept is perfect for distilling everything down into three simple words and focusing your mind on what matters most. The 3 words allows you to reflect upon them so that you can then think up goals (which are SMART) that link to each of the words.

There are so many words I could have chosen for my three, however these are the ones I’ve gone with:

Create

This isn’t the the most original choice of word, but this exercise isn’t about originality (that could have been another of my words!) but about choosing what works best for you. And I love to create and it’s something I want to do more of over the next year. As a marketer, I like to think that the work I do is artistic and can make a difference to other people. I want to create a lot more in 2011 – and then ship!

Ship

I’m a big fan of Seth Godin, and one of his mantras is that you should always ship. Shipping is all about getting things done. It might be pressing the ‘submit’ button on your blog, handing an assignment in on deadline or putting together a new design on time for a client pitch. All too often I’ve found myself procrastinating over a report I’m writing or a blog post I’m putting together because I want it to be just right. But continually working on something (Seth Godin refers to this as ‘thrashing’) won’t get anything done. I therefore need to plan better, work harder and submit stuff to a set deadline. That way I’ll have achieved more.

Improve

Unfortunately, time isn’t slowing down and it seems that the older I get the quicker it flies by. Every day, I’m reminded of how far behind I am compared with those I aspire to be like. I therefore want to constantly improve as much as possible over the next 12 months. This might involve attending formal training seminars and workshops, reading more magazines and books or even non work-related self improvement such as improving my fitness. I want 2011 to be the year where I look back on the past 56 weeks on December 31st and think ‘I have noticeably improved and made a real, tangible difference’.

So those are my 3 words for 2011. What are your 3 words? What do they mean to you?

2 Responses to “My 3 words for 2011”

  1. Nicky Kriel Says:

    My 3 words for this year are Focus, Follow-through and Food! Last year I had a theme which was Go Boldly Forward which encouraged me to take all sorts of challenges and was good for my mindset.

    • Gavin Llewellyn Says:

      Thank you for commenting Nancy.

      If I could have chosen a fourth word it probably would have been food, too! I think your three words are excellent and I like your theme from last year. I’ve always believed that it’s those who are willing to challenge themselves and take (calculated) risks are the ones most likely to find success/ satisfaction in what they do.

      I wish you all the best for 2011 and I look forward to catching up with you again through the blog or on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

