How to deal with a bad day

Bad days come and go, but when they’re around it’s a drag. They can put a real dent in your mood, reduce your productivity and make life feel a lot less pleasant than it should be.

But what can you do to get through a bad day so you can focus on what’s important?

Distract yourself

A few months ago I was working on a big project at work. Although the project was challenging, the work was a lot of fun but the problem was that I found it hard to ‘switch off’ becuase I was thinking about all the time. So when a friend asked me about going to the cinema I found myself saying ‘no’. But I was persuaded to go and it was probably the best thing for me. It gave me a chance to forget about work for a few hours, enjoy a great film and get away from it all for a while.

Get some exercise

Everyone’s different, but I like to go to the gym or for a run to take my mind off things after a tough day – especially if it truned out to be a really lousy one! Although I might feel like going home, slouching on the sofa and watching TV, I find that after a good work-out I feel a lot better. Not only have I done my body some good, but my mood feels better, too. Exercise decreases the body’s stress hormones and increases endorphins, which are the body’s natural feel-good chemicals. When they’re released through exercise, your mood is boosted naturally.

Stay in contact

It might be tempting to retreat into isolation when your day’s not going so well, but this isn’t necessarily the best thing to do. Studies have shown that contact with others, especially people your close to, boosts mood . So if your friends are around, try and meet up with them if you can, whether it’s down the local for a pint or for a meal after work. Having a chat and a laugh can do you the world of good!

Write it down

If things are troubling me and thoughts are rattling around in my head, I often find that writing it all down in a few paragraphs can really help. Putting it on paper can help rationalise the thoughts and help find solutions to some of the things that are worrying you.

Put things in perspective

If you’re having a bad day, simply ask yourself: “Will this really matter in a week… a month… a year?” I was recently thinking about my university days and the amount of stress I felt during exam time or when a big piece of coursework was due. It seemed like the biggest deal in the world at the time, but I hardly think about it now. I got through it and moved on.

How do you deal with bad days? Do you have any tips on how to get through them?

Leave a Reply

